Newport West By-election results

Newport West Parliamentary By-election 

Results of the By- election held 4 April 2019

Results for Newport West
 Candidate     Party    Number of votes   Comment    
 Jonathan CLARKE   Plaid Cymru    1185  
 June DAVIES  Renew  879  
 Matthew EVANS  Conservative      7357  
 Neil HAMILTON  UKIP  2023  
 Ruth JONES  Labour  9308  Elected
 Ryan JONES  Liberal Democrat     1088  
 Ian MCLEAN  Social Democrat  202  
 Hugh NICKLIN  The For Britain Movement  159  
 Richard SUCHORZEWSKI  Abolish the Welsh Assembly  205  
 Philip TAYLOR  Democrats and Veterans  185  
 Amelia WOMACK  Green Party  924  



 Total electorate              63623                   
 Turnout  37.1%


Rejected ballot papers

The number of ballot papers rejected was as follows:
 a) want of an official mark    0     
 b) voting for more candidates than the voter was entitled to  23
 c) writing or mark by which voter could be identified  8
 d) being unmarked or wholly void for uncertainty  69
 e) rejected in part  0
 Total  100