Christmas

Christmas-girl-2014

Download the Countdown to Christmas 2014 leaflet| (pdf)

Christmas snowman trail

Thursday 20 November - Saturday 3 January 2015

Primary schools in Newport have been beavering away creating, sticking and painting 10 seasonal snowmen which are dotted across the city in various shops, venues and cafes.

Can you find them all?

Queensberry Real Estate| is very pleased to be supporting this seasonal art project. 

St David’s grotto

Sunday 23 November – Wednesday 24 December 2014

Visit Father Christmas in his grotto in the Kingsway Shopping Centre, where children will be able to tell him their dreams for Christmas morning.

Visit the St David's Hospice website| for further information. 

Pantomime - Dick Whittington

Tuesday 2 December - Sunday 4 January 2015 at The Riverfront Theatre

Witty jokes, a sparkling script, memorable songs, fabulous acting and audience participation, it can only mean one thing – its Riverfront panto time, oh yes it is! 

Visit The Riverfront website| to book your tickets. 

Celtic Manor Christmas kingdom

27 November - 4 January 2015, Celtic Manor

Get ready to enjoy the magic of the festive season as the resort's rooftop garden becomes a frosty backdrop for a winter adventure.

Visit the Celtic Manor website| for further information.

Parking 

There is parking in the city centre and charges for all council owned car parks are £1.00 for first 3 hours.

Visit the parking pages for full details.|

Park and ride

Saturdays, 25 October - 27 December 2014, 9am - 6pm 

The Saturday park and ride service will run every 10 minutes from the Civic Centre to Queensway.  

Waste and recycling collections

If your usual collection is...        It will take place...

Thursday 25 December                 Saturday 27 December

Friday 26 December                      Sunday 28 December

Thursday 1 January                       Friday 2 January

Friday 2 January                            Saturday 3 January

Collections due Wednesday 24, Monday 29, Tuesday 30 and Wednesday 31 December are unchanged.

Read about waste and recycling in Newport|

Household Waste Recycling Centre (HWRC) and landfill site

Thursday 25 December                Closed

Friday 26 December                     Closed

Thursday 1 January                      Closed

Friday 2 January                           Open as usual

The site will be open as usual on Wednesday 24, Saturday 27, Monday 29, Tuesday and Wednesday 31 December.

Find details of the HWRC |