Cookies Cookies are small files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to personalise your visit. Follow the link to find out how
Newport City Council uses cookies.

Click the continue button for us to remember your decision.

 
  1. A-Z of Services
  2. a
  3. b
  4. c
  5. d
  6. e
  7. f
  8. g
  9. h
  10. i
  11. j
  12. k
  13. l
  14. m
  15. n
  16. o
  17. p
  18. q
  19. r
  20. s
  21. t
  22. u
  23. v
  24. w
  25. x
  26. y
  27. z

Arddangosfa / Exhibition: Yr Olygfa o'r Bryn / The View from the Hill

The View from the Hill

Mae Yr Olygfa o'r Bryn yn arddangosfa o ddyfrlliwiau gan Frances Hawkins, y mae'r rhan fwyaf ohonynt yn dod o gasgliad sy'n cael ei gadw gan Amgueddfa ac Oriel Gelf Casnewydd. Roedd Hawkins yn wraig i ficer Eglwys Gwynllyw ac roedd hi'n paentio'r dirwedd leol, led-wledig a oedd mor gyfarwydd iddi yn ystod degawdau canol y bedwaredd ganrif ar bymtheg. Mae ei chelf yn darlunio bywyd o arwahanrwydd cymdeithasol, ac yn rhoi ymdeimlad beidio bod chysylltiad 'r newidiadau tyngedfennol yr oedd y chwyldro diwydiannol yn eu creu yn ne Cymru'r adeg honno.

The View from the Hill is an exhibition of watercolours by Frances Hawkins, the majority of which are from a collection held by Newport Museum and Art Gallery. Hawkins was the wife of the Vicar of St. Woolos, and she painted the semi-rural, local landscape that she knew so well during the middle decades of the nineteenth century. Her art depicts a life of social exclusivity, and provides a sense of detachment from the momentous changes that industrialisation was rapidly imposing on South Wales during this period.

Location : Newport Museum & Art Gallery
Price : FREE

Dates & Times :
Saturday 25 May
Tuesday 28 May
Wednesday 29 May
Thursday 30 May
Friday 31 May
Saturday 1 June
Tuesday 4 June
Wednesday 5 June
Thursday 6 June
Friday 7 June
Saturday 8 June
Tuesday 11 June
Wednesday 12 June
Thursday 13 June
Friday 14 June
Saturday 15 June
Tuesday 18 June
Wednesday 19 June
Thursday 20 June
Friday 21 June
Saturday 22 June
Tuesday 25 June
Wednesday 26 June
Thursday 27 June
Friday 28 June
Saturday 29 June
Tuesday 2 July
Wednesday 3 July
Thursday 4 July
Friday 5 July
Saturday 6 July
Tuesday 9 July
Wednesday 10 July
Thursday 11 July
Friday 12 July
Saturday 13 July

Contact : Oliver Blackmore
tel : 01633 656656
e-mail : museum@newport.gov.uk

More Information :
More information at http://www.newport.gov.uk/

Subscribe to the what's on rss feed.