Cookies Cookies are small files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to personalise your visit. Follow the link to find out how
Newport City Council uses cookies.

Click the continue button for us to remember your decision.

  1. Find Council Services
  2. a
  3. b
  4. c
  5. d
  6. e
  7. f
  8. g
  9. h
  10. i
  11. j
  12. k
  13. l
  14. m
  15. n
  16. o
  17. p
  18. q
  19. r
  20. s
  21. t
  22. u
  23. v
  24. w
  25. x
  26. y
  27. z

Democratic Process

Democratic Arrangements

Newport City Council’s decision-making structure is outlined below.

Follow the links to find out more about democratic arrangements and related information.

Download and read the Forward Work Programme 2014-2015 (pdf)


Newport City Council is made up of 50 members, elected in 20 wards throughout the city…

Questions at Council

A new format has been introduced for Councillors asking questions at Council. This allows Councillors to submit written questions to the Leader, Deputy Leader or Cabinet Member who will in turn provide a written response. To view these questions, click on the Questions at Council link.


10 of the Council’s members make up the Cabinet, including the Council’s Leader and Deputy Leader…

Questions at Any Time to Leader, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Members

This has also been recently introduced. You can view these questions by clicking on the Cabinet heading above, which will navigate you to the Leader, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Members portfolios.

Overview & Scrutiny

The Council has established 3 forums of 10 non-executive members for the purposes of overview and scrutiny…

Planning Committee

The Planning Committee deliberates on large or more controversial planning applications, enforcement notices and tree preservation orders…

Licensing Committee

The Licensing Committee exercises the Council’s licensing function under the Licensing Act 2003…

Standards Committee

The Standards Committee consists of 3 non-executive members, 5 independent members and 1 community council representative…

Democratic Services Committee

The Democratic Services Committee is a new committee, in line with the Local Government (Wales) Measure 2011, which consists of 10 elected members…

Please use this form to help us improve our website; if you have a specific query, or require a response, please use our online contact form

Content ID: DevXP001696